Seaford Town Meeting

Minutes of the Town Meeting held at Seaford Baptist Church, Belgrave Road, Seaford, on Tuesday 29 April 2014 at 7.00 pm.

Present from Seaford Town Council:

Councillors M Brown (Mayor), S Adeniji, B Burfield, S Dunn, P Franklin, S Gauntlett, T Goodman, L Wallraven and A White.

Young Mayor Georgia Colyer and Deputy Young Mayor Millie Hemsley.

Mr J Corrigan (Interim Town Clerk), Ms E Harvey and Miss R Beard (Admin Assistants)

1. Welcome and Introductions by the Mayor

The Mayor welcomed the attendees and outlined the format of the evening.

2. Minutes

The minutes of the Annual Town Meeting held 30th April 2013, were agreed by the meeting and signed by the Mayor.

3. Seaford Town Council Annual Report 2013/14

Councillor Mark Brown, Mayor of Seaford Town Council, introduced the Annual Report. He also thanked all Councillors and the Staff of Seaford Town Council. The Mayor invited questions and comments from the public in relation to the Annual Report.

4. Reports from recipients of large grants

Verbal and visual reports were given by representatives of recipients of large grants awarded by Seaford Town Council 2013-14 from the Citizens Advice Bureau, Seaford Boxing Club, Seaford Bonfire Society, Seaford Community Partnership and Seaford Lifeguards.

5. Reports by the Mayor's Charities and the Mayor's Community Awards

Ann Jacobs from Seahaven Store House and Cathy Finch from Waves thanked the Mayor for choosing their charities as one of chosen charities for this municipal year 2014/15 and gave a brief summary of the work they undertake and their future plans.

Waifs & Strays Dogs Trust and Seaford Downs Syndrome & Special Needs Support Group thanked Councillor Anthony White for allowing their charities to be one of the chosen charities for the previous municipal year 2013/14 when he was elected as Mayor of Seaford.

This year was the first time the Don Mabey MBE award was presented. It was awarded to Mr David Argent for his outstanding service to the town of Seaford.

There were 8 Mayors community awards which were received by Mr Ben King, Mr Andy Lock, Sgt Stuart Mullins, Rev Vicky Martin, Mr Gerri Ori and Mrs Lesley Wetlesen for the contribution they give to local products/groups for the town of Seaford.

2 Mayors Community awards were presented at a later date to Mrs Jill Allen & Mrs Nicky Auster as they were unable to attend the Town Meeting.

6. Public Questions

The Mayor invited questions from the meeting.

Questioner	Question Concerning
Mrs Joan Henrick	The cycle lane at the Seafront and at the Sunken Gardens between Dane Road and West View, both have inadequate planning for pedestrians.
Mayor	Explained that the cycle lane is under review after 6 months and that a survey form can be completed regarding any comments. The Sunken Gardens leads out to a public highway and the Town Council are therefore not responsible for any access issue, this is the remit of East Sussex County Council.

The meeting ended at 9.30pm.

Councillor M Brown Mayor