Seaford Town CouncilSeaford Town Council
Seaford Town Council, 37 Church Street, Seaford, BN25 1HG.
Tel: 01323 894870  |  Fax: 01323 872976  |  Email:

Grand Opening of Seaford’s New Wheelchair Accessible Swing in The Salts

Submitted on 01 August 2018 by STC Officers

Seaford Town Council was proud to support former 2017-18 Young Mayor, Thomas Exley, in the opening of the new wheelchair accessible swing at The Salts play area.

This is the first swing of its kind in the town and is a fantastic addition to encourage inclusive play areas. The swing provides an opportunity for wheelchair users to experience that swinging sensation that provides hours of fun for children and makes most adults revert back to childhood levels of excitement!

During his year in office, Thomas carried out various fundraising activities and events, including coach trips and the successful Seaford Summer Magic event. Thanks to all the generous donations during the course of the year, of which there were too many to list but were truly astonishing, and a final instalment from the Town Council, over £10k was raised for the purchase and installation of the swing.

Supplied by GL Jones Playgrounds, the swing can be accessed and used with a Radar key and has its own support straps and easy-to-follow instructions for use (which can also be viewed online at

On Saturday 28 July, Thomas and the Mayor of Seaford, Councillor Linda Wallraven, officially opened the swing within the play area of The Salts Recreation Ground (pictured below). Many local dignitaries and members of public came along to support the opening, who were all pleased to see such an inclusive piece of play equipment welcomed to Seaford.


Mayor, Cllr Linda Wallraven with Past Young Mayor, Thomas Exley 

Looking back at his year in office and this fantastic achievement, Thomas said “It has been a delight to be able to raise funds for this project and thank you to the people who donated. I hope that the wheelchair swing will be of use to disabled young people for many years to come”.

Local Council Award Scheme Foundation